Skip to content
March 20, 2018

Jayapal, Thompson, Lofgren Lead More Than 50 Members to Protect Families From Being Torn Apart at the Border

Rep. Pramila Jayapal, Homeland Security Committee Ranking Member Bennie G. Thompson, Judiciary Subcommittee on Immigration Policy and Enforcement Ranking Member Zoe Lofgren, and 58 members of Congress sent a letter to the House Homeland Security Subcommittee on Appropriations to urge the committee to reject the separation of families at the border and instead restore funding for alternatives to detention, such as the Family Case Management Program (FCMP).

“Attorneys from around the country have communicated that family separation is currently occurring on a regular basis. We believe that the Administration is threatening to institute a blanket policy requiring the separation of all families. This is an inhumane practice that must end now,” wrote the members. “DHS must act with humanity and fiscal responsibility by prioritizing a spectrum of alternatives to detention, beginning by restoring the Family Case Management Program (FCMP).”

Link to Letter

#  #  #

Media contact:
(Thompson) Adam Comis at 202-225-9978
(Jayapal) Omer Farooque at 202-450-0088
(Lofgren) Peter Whippy at 202-225-3072