Skip to content
February 13, 2018

Election Security Task Force to Hold Press Conference Releasing Final Report & Legislation

Tomorrow, February 14th, the Congressional Task Force on Election Security, chaired by House Committee on Homeland Security Ranking Member Bennie G. Thompson (D-MS) and Committee on House Administration Ranking Member Robert Brady (D-PA) will hold a press conference releasing its Final Report including ten specific recommendations on what the federal government and states can and should be doing to secure our nation’s elections. The Members of the Task Force will also introduce legislation to help secure our election infrastructure and implement the recommendations of the report.

Russia’s unprecedented assault on the country’s elections in 2016 – including targeting 21 states’ voting systems – exposed serious national security vulnerabilities to our election infrastructure – which includes voting machines and voter registration databases. Since that time, the Trump Administration and Republican Leadership in Congress have refused to address the issue or put forth any solutions to close these security gaps, inviting Russia to interfere in our elections again.

Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi
Rep. Bennie G. Thompson, Task Force Co-Chair
Rep. Robert Brady, Task Force Co-Chair
Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)
Rep. James R. Langevin (D-RI)
Rep. Cedric L. Richmond (D-LA)
Rep. Val Demings (D-FL)

Press Conference on election security and new legislation to secure our elections.

Wednesday, February 14, 2018, 11:45 am ET

Radio/TV Gallery Studio A
Capitol Visitor Center
The Capitol
Washington, D.C.

Press conference is for Congressionally accredited media only.

Live stream of the event will be available here.

#  #  #

Media contacts:
Peter Whippy (House Administration) at 202-225-1943
Adam Comis (Homeland) at 202-225-9978