Skip to content
November 19, 2021

Chairman Thompson Marks 20th Anniversary of the Creation of TSA

(WASHINGTON) – Today, Rep. Bennie G. Thompson (D-MS), Chairman of the Committee on Homeland Security, marked the twenty-year anniversary of the creation of the Transportation Security Administration (TSA), after Congress established it in the wake of the September 11, 2001 attacks.

“Following the devastating attacks of September 11th, 2001, Federal authorities undertook the massive effort to safeguard and defend our national transportation system,” said Chairman Thompson. “In the past two decades, TSA has implemented advanced security technologies, responded to new and ever-changing threats, and protected the lives of billions of passengers from around the country and across the globe. Today, even amid the dangers of the COVID-19 pandemic, Transportation Security Officers, Federal Air Marshals, Transportation Security Inspectors, and other TSA employees continue to serve on the front lines and protect the lives of passengers and the security of cargo traveling by air, sea, road, and rail.”

Chairman Thompson, along with Ranking Member of the House Homeland Security Committee John Katko (R-NY) and Transportation and Maritime Security Subcommittee Chairwoman Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ) and Ranking Member Carlos Gimenez (R-FL), also introduced a House Resolution recognizing the service and sacrifices of the Transportation Security Administration's employees and officers on the occasion of the 20th anniversary of the establishment of TSA and the role TSA's employees and officers play in keeping our Nation secure.

An extension of Chairman Thompson’s remarks marking the anniversary, along with the text of the House Resolution, has also been submitted in the Congressional Record.

#  #  #

Media contact: Adam Comis at (202) 225-9978