Skip to content
April 12, 2021

Chairman Thompson Statement on President Biden’s Nominations for Key Cybersecurity Positions

(WASHINGTON) – Today, Rep. Bennie G. Thompson (D-MS), Chairman of the Committee on Homeland Security, released the following statement on President Biden’s nominations of Jen Easterly to be Director of the Cybersecurity & Infrastructure Security Agency, Chris Inglis to be White House National Cyber Director, and Robert Silvers to be Homeland Security Under Secretary for Strategy, Policy, & Plans: 

“As the nation continues to face unprecedented cybersecurity challenges, I am pleased President Biden has nominated key cybersecurity positions today. All three nominees have serious experience in cybersecurity and will have the ability to get things done. Together, these nominations make an important statement about how seriously this administration is taking cybersecurity. After the previous administration’s efforts to bolster our cybersecurity posture were marred by a lack of steady, consistent White House leadership, the enormity of the task facing the current Administration cannot be overstated.  I am confident the nominees named today have the smarts, grit, and relationships necessary to defend Federal and critical infrastructure networks from sophisticated cyber attacks.  

“I encourage the Senate to act swiftly in confirming these nominees so they can quickly get to work ensuring our country remains resilient and secure. I look forward to working with them.” 

#  #  #

Press Contact

Adam Comis at (202) 225-9978