Skip to content
December 02, 2021

Chairs Thompson, Barragán Release Statement on Court-ordered Reimplementation of ‘Remain in Mexico’ Policy

(WASHINGTON) – Today, Rep. Bennie G. Thompson (D-MS), Chairman of the Committee on Homeland Security, and Rep. Nanette Diaz Barragán (D-CA), Chairwoman of the Subcommittee on Border Security, Facilitation, & Operations, released the below statement following the announcement from the Department of Homeland Security that the U.S. and Mexico reached an agreement on the court-ordered reimplementation of the Trump Administration’s ‘Remain in Mexico’ policy.

“We are disappointed to see the forced re-implementation of the cruel Migrant Protection Protocols (MPP). Making asylum seekers wait in Mexico, where over 1,500 people have been raped, kidnapped, or murdered while their asylum claims are heard, goes against our nation’s longstanding tradition of keeping our doors open for those fleeing war, hunger, and hardship.

“The Biden Administration has an obligation to uphold its campaign promise and take all necessary legal steps to end this policy once and for all.  As this policy continues to move through the courts, we will conduct oversight of the Department of Homeland Security to ensure critical safeguards and protections for migrants are in place.”

#  #  #

Media contact: Adam Comis at (202) 225-9978