Skip to content
January 31, 2017

Homeland Security Committee Ranking Members Announced

(WASHINGTON) – Today, Rep. Bennie G. Thompson (D-MS), Ranking Member of the Committee on Homeland Security, announced the Committee’s new Democratic members and subcommittee Ranking Members for the 115th Congress. Ranking Member Thompson also announced the appointment of Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ) to be Vice Ranking Member of the full Committee. The full list of Committee membership can be seen here.

Subcommittee Ranking Members:

  • Rep. Filemon Vela (D-TX) - Border & Maritime Security
  • Rep. Kathleen M. Rice (D-NY) - Counterterrorism & Intelligence
  • Rep. Cedric L. Richmond (D-LA) - Cybersecurity & Infrastructure Protection
  • Rep. Donald Payne Jr. (D-NJ) - Emergency Preparedness, Response, & Communications
  • Rep. J. Luis Correa (D-CA) - Oversight & Management Efficiency
  • Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ) - Transportation & Protective Security

New Members:

  • Rep. J. Luis Correa (D-CA)
  • Rep. Val Butler Demmings (D-FL)
  • Rep. Nanette Diaz Barragan (D-CA)

Ranking Member Thompson released the following statement announcing the Ranking Members and Democratic members:

“I am proud to announce a diverse slate of Democratic members to our committee.  I know their depth of experience and unique backgrounds will foster invaluable ideas on how we can ensure our country is safe and secure.  With a new administration in place, effective oversight of the Department of Homeland Security will be critical this Congress and I am confident our members are up to the task.”

#  #  #

Media contact: Adam Comis at (202) 225-9978