Skip to content
January 29, 2021

Chairman Thompson Announces Homeland Security Committee Democratic Members and Subcommittee Chairs

(WASHINGTON) –Today, Rep. Bennie G. Thompson (D-MS), Chairman of the Committee on Homeland Security, released the following statement announcing the 19 Democratic Members of the Committee as well as the six Subcommittee Chairs and full Committee Vice Chair for the 117th Congress:   

“I’m excited to welcome our new Members – and welcome back other fine Members – to the Committee. Committee Democrats represent a diverse array of communities across our country and are well positioned to apply their varied backgrounds and perspectives to the issues of homeland security that affect all Americans.”

“I am confident that our new Subcommittee Chairs and Committee Democrats are up to the challenge of confronting the pressing issues facing our country today – which include crushing the coronavirus, defending our homeland from violent extremism and domestic terrorism, undoing the damage of the Trump Administration’s disastrous and cruel immigration and border security policies, and protecting our networks and infrastructure from cyber-threats.”

“Importantly, Committee Democrats stand ready to work with the Biden Administration to help keep the country secure and advance critical and much needed reforms within the Department of Homeland Security.”

Democratic Members:

Rep. Bennie G. Thompson (MS-2), Chairman
Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18)
Rep. Jim Langevin (RI-2)
Rep. Donald M. Payne, Jr. (NJ-10)
Rep. Lou Correa (CA-46)
Rep. Elissa Slotkin (MI-8)
Rep. Emanuel Cleaver (MO-5)
Rep. Al Green (TX-9)
Rep. Yvette D. Clarke (NY-9)
Rep. Eric Swalwell (CA-15)
Rep. Dina Titus (NV-1)
Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12)
Rep. Kathleen Rice (NY-4)
Rep. Val Demings (FL-10)
Rep. Nanette Diaz Barragán (CA-44)
Rep. Josh Gottheimer (NJ-5)
Rep. Elaine Luria (VA-2)
Rep. Tom Malinowski (NJ-7)
Rep. Ritchie Torres (NY-15)

Subcommittee Chairs:

Subcommittee on Border Security, Facilitation, and Operations

Rep. Nanette Diaz Barragán (CA-44), Chair

Subcommittee on Cybersecurity, Infrastructure Protection, and Innovation

Rep. Yvette D. Clarke (NY-9), Chair

Subcommittee on Emergency Preparedness, Response, and Recovery

Rep. Val Demings (FL-10), Chair

Subcommittee on Intelligence and Counterterrorism

Rep. Elissa Slotkin (MI-8), Chair

Subcommittee on Oversight, Management, and Accountability

Rep. Lou Correa (CA-46), Chair

Subcommittee on Transportation and Maritime Security

Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12), Chair

Full Committee Vice Chair:

Rep. Ritchie Torres (NY-15)

Note: The Committee will hold its organizational meeting on Wednesday, February 3 and will hold its first hearing on domestic terrorism in the wake of the attack on the Capitol on Thursday, February 4.

#  #  #

Press Contact

Adam Comis at (202) 225-9978