Skip to content
September 16, 2022

Chairs Thompson, Clarke Applaud $1 Billion in Funding for New State and Local Cybersecurity Grant Program

(WASHINGTON) – Today, Rep. Bennie G. Thompson (D-MS), Chairman of the Committee on Homeland Security, and Rep. Yvette D. Clarke (D-NY), Chairwoman of the Subcommittee on Cybersecurity, Infrastructure Protection, & Innovation, released the below statement on news that the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) has announced $1 Billion in funding for the new State and Local Cybersecurity Grant Program. This program was originally envisioned by Chairwoman Clarke in her State and Local Cybersecurity Improvement Act (H.R. 3138).

“For years, throughout the country, we have witnessed state and local governments fall victim to ransomware attacks that have disrupted essential public services. We are glad that as part of the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, our colleagues joined us in enacting our longstanding priority of creating a dedicated state and local cybersecurity grant program by including our State and Local Cybersecurity Improvement Act that the Homeland Security Committee passed last May. Investing in securing our digital infrastructure is a national security necessity, and all levels of government must partner together to better defend against cyberattacks.

“We applaud the Department for their work in moving forward in implementing this vital new grant program, and we will continue to work to ensure state and local governments receive the cybersecurity assistance they need. This funding is a vital down payment toward addressing our state and local cybersecurity challenges, and Congress must ensure that we continue to build on this support in the future.”

#  #  #

Press Contact

Adam Comis at 202-225-9978