Skip to content
January 23, 2013

Thompson Announces Subcommittee Ranking Members – and Welcomes New Democratic Members

January 23, 2013 (WASHINGTON) - Today, Rep. Bennie G. Thompson (D-MS), Ranking Member of the Committee on Homeland Security, announced the subcommittee Ranking Members for the Committee for the 113th Congress and announced the Democratic membership of the Committee. The Committee officially organized for the 113th Congress this morning.

Subcommittee Ranking Members:

Border and Maritime Security - Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX)
Counterterrorism and Intelligence - Rep. Brian Higgins (D-NY)
Cybersecurity, Infrastructure Protection & Security Technologies - Rep. Yvette D. Clarke (D-NY)
Emergency Preparedness, Response & Communications - Rep. Donald M. Payne, Jr. (D-NJ)
Oversight and Management Efficiency - Rep. Ron Barber (D-AZ)
Transportation Security - Rep. Cedric L. Richmond (D-LA)

Democratic Members:

Rep. Bennie G. Thompson (D-MS) Rep. Loretta Sanchez (D-CA) Rep. Sheila Jackson-Lee (D-TX) Rep. Yvette D. Clarke (D-NY) Rep. Brian Higgins (D-NY) Rep. Cedric L. Richmond (D-LA) Rep. William R. Keating (D-MA) Rep. Ron Barber (D-AZ) Rep. Donald M. Payne, Jr. (D-NJ) Rep. Beto O'Rourke (D-TX) Rep. Tulsi Gabbard (D-HI) Rep. Filemon Vela (D-TX) Rep. Steven A. Horsford (D-NV) Rep. Eric Swalwell (D-CA)

Ranking Member Thompson released the following statement announcing the Ranking Members and Democratic roster:

I am excited to introduce a diverse and talented slate of Democratic Members and Ranking Members who I am confident will help lead the Committee with distinction – and make valuable contributions to our efforts to keep the American public secure. I am confident that each and every one of our Members will work in a collaborative fashion to help better secure our homeland and better manage the Department of Homeland Security.

Ranking Member Thompson's Statement from Today's Organizational Meeting

#   #   # 

Media Contact: Adam Comis at (202) 225-9978