Skip to content
July 28, 2023

Thompson, DeLauro Celebrate Largest Ever Boost in Pay for TSA’s Workforce of 60,000+

(WASHINGTON) – Today, Rep. Bennie G. Thompson (D-MS), Ranking Member of the Committee on Homeland Security, and Rep. Rosa DeLauro (D-CT), Ranking Member of the Committee on Appropriations, released the below statements celebrating that this week, the Transportation Security Administration’s workforce of 60,000 will get their first substantial pay raise, along with expanded collective bargaining rights, since the agency was created in 2001.

This boost was the result of funding legislation passed in December by Congressional Democrats. It represents by far the biggest advancement for the workforce in TSA’s history and is the largest pay bump for any Federal workforce in at least 30 years. It will impact everyone at TSA, including the agency’s 50,000 Transportation Security Officers.  

“I am proud that after years of work trying to get TSA’s workforce equitable pay, we were able to deliver them pay raises up to 31 percent this week. Quite simply, better pay means better security, more expertise, and less attrition,” said Ranking Member Thompson. “Thankfully, with this Administration, we finally had a partner in this effort, and I want to thank Homeland Security Secretary Mayorkas and TSA Administrator Pekoske for their assistance and support. I also want to thank Ranking Member DeLauro as well as former Congresswoman Nita Lowey, who joined me in this effort years ago, as well as American Federation of Government Employees National President Everett Kelley and TSA Council President Hydrick Thomas. Now, we still need a permanent solution to continue this progress and fully annualize these pay increases and safeguards for workplace rights for all TSA workers. It is the least we can do for this workforce who work to keep our skies secure around the clock and worked thanklessly day in and day out during the COVID-19 pandemic.”

“Every day, TSA employees screen and secure our nation’s airways. The record numbers of passengers taking to the skies this year would never leave the ground if not for the often-thankless hard work, dedication, vigilance, and professionalism of TSA employees,” House Appropriations Committee Ranking Member Rosa DeLauro said. “I am proud to have been joined by Ranking Member Thompson and many of our colleagues in fighting to ensure that we properly compensated TSA employees in the most recent federal spending bill signed into law. While I am thrilled that TSA workers’ collective bargaining rights have been recognized and larger paychecks are en route, this acknowledgment of the tremendous and irreplaceable role of our transportation system’s frontline workers is long overdue. It is no secret that every part of our aviation system has been tested, and challenges must continue to be addressed. We have a long way to go to provide the seamless travel experience Americans expect and deserve. But this is a necessary and important step towards ensuring checkpoints are fully staffed and our most dedicated frontline workers are taken care of.”

“This historic pay increase marks a turning point for TSA and the dedicated Americans who keep air travel safe for the flying public. For 20 years, our union has fought for equal pay for these front-line workers, and we are so proud they have finally achieved the increase they deserve,” added AFGE National President Everett Kelley. “AFGE would like to thank Secretary Mayorkas and Administrator Pekoske for their support in enacting these vital changes. We also have incredible gratitude for Representative Bennie Thompson and Representative Rosa DeLauro for standing shoulder to shoulder with us in this fight for fair pay and expanded workplace rights; this increase in pay would not be possible without their leadership."

Read more on TSA’s new compensation plan here. For more info on a recent public event announcing the pay reform with Ranking Member Thompson, Secretary Mayorkas, and Administrator Pekoske please see here.

#  #  #

Press Contact

Adam Comis (Homeland Security): 202-225-9978

Katelynn Thorpe (Appropriations): 202-225-1599